Primary Elections 2015


Provo City will hold primary elections on Tuesday, August 11, 2015 from 7:00 AM to 8:00 PM.


Early voting for Provo City begins 14 days before election. All early voting will take place at the Provo City Recreation Center (in the lounge on the east side of the building) Tuesday, July 28 through Friday, July 31 and Monday, August 3 through Friday, August 7. 1:00 PM to 6:00 PM on Monday – Thursday and 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM on Friday.

Monday, July 27 is the last day the County Clerk can register voters in the office so that voters may still vote early. Must be a registered voter and bring ID (Utah DL or two forms of ID proving Provo City residency). Spread the word and help encourage everyone to get out and vote early!

WHERE DO I VOTE for primary election?

To find your polling location please go to, type your address in the upper left hand corner, and click on the “My Polling Place” link.  Provo City will use the same polling locations that Utah County used in 2014:

Precinct –Polling Location   Precinct –Polling Location
PR01 Utah County Health & Justice Bldg PR26 Centennial Middle School
PR02 Spring Creek Elementary PR27 Freedom Academy
PR03 Spring Creek Elementary PR28 Larry H. Miller Dodge
PR04 UC Historic Courthouse (Rotunda) PR29 Larry H. Miller Dodge
PR05 Provost Elementary PR30 Centennial Middle School
PR06 UC Historic Courthouse (Rotunda) PR31 Freedom Academy
PR07 Provo City Library – RM 201 PR32 Larry H. Miller Dodge
PR08 BYU Conference Center PR33 BYU Conference Center
PR09 Provo Peaks Elementary PR34 Provo Recreation Center
PR10 Provo City Library – RM 201 PR35 Amelia Earhart Elementary
PR11 Wasatch Elementary PR36 Wasatch Elementary
PR12 Provo Peaks Elementary (Farrer) PR37 Centennial Middle School
PR13 Westridge Elementary PR38 BYU Conference Center
PR14 Provo City Center PR39 Timpview High School
PR15 Canyon Crest Elementary PR40 Timpview High School
PR16 Edgemont Elementary PR41 Edgemont Elementary
PR17 Provo City Center PR42 Canyon Crest Elementary
PR18 Amelia Earhart Elementary PR43 Provo City Center
PR19 Lakeview Elementary PR44 Provo City Center
PR20 Lakeview Elementary PR45 Provost Elementary
PR21 Independence High School
PR22 Dixon Middle School
PR23 Independence High School
PR24 Lakeview Elementary
PR25 Westridge Elementary


Listed below are the candidates for the 2015 municipal elections. There will not be a primary election for Districts 1, 4 and 5.  Districts 3 and City-wide II will have a primary election on Tuesday, August 11, 2015.  

  • District 1 – Gary Winterton & Clint Rhinehart
  • District 3 – Brian Smith, Dave Knecht, & Roger Brown
  • District 4 – Howard Stone & Vernon Kay Van Buren
  • District 5 – David Harding
  • City-Wide II – Carina H. Wytiaz, George Stewart, Jason Christensen, Stevan Davis, & J.L. Friedbaum

For more information about the candidates and the municipal election visit or contact the Provo City Recorder’s Office at 801-852-6524.

Absentee | Vote by Mail

Any registered voter who wishes to vote an absentee ballot must request an application. A voter may submit an application or pick up a Vote By Mail (VBM) ballot in the Utah County Election Office at 100 East Center Street, Suite 3600, in Provo or the Provo City Recorder’s office at 351 West Center Street, Provo.

The completed application must be received in the office no later than the Thursday before Election Day. A ballot will be mailed to the address you specify on your application when they become available (usually 30 days before Election Day). Please allow plenty of time for mailing, especially if you will be in another state or foreign country.

Click here to open a pdf file of a VBM Application that you can print and mail to the 100 East Center Street, Suite 3600, Provo, UT  84601.

Voting by mail is a two-step process and can be done by any registered voter

  • In person at the Utah County Election Office no later than 5:00 PM on the Thursday before the election or
  • Online seven days before the election.  

When voting by mail, the completed Vote By Mail ballot must be clearly postmarked BEFORE election day and received not later than noon the day of the official election canvass. The signatures on the application and the affidavit must be the same or the ballot cannot be counted.

Dates to remember:

Tuesday, July 14

Absentee ballots are mailed to voters

Thursday, August 6

Last day to request an absentee ballot in person

If you have any questions regarding a Vote by Mail (VBM) ballot please call (801) 851-8128.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail to someone
  1. Danielle

    Thank you for posting this! I scoured the Internet for quite a while looking for this information and was so relieved to find this page. 🙂

  2. Devon

    There have been issues in the past with polling locations on BYU property, I.e finding parking that did not require a campus permit. I think that polling locations should be located in public locations that are less likely to inhibit access to voting by people that are not associated with BYU. Public schools and other public buildings appear to be the most ideal location. Just my two cents.

Browse Popular Categories